Sunflowers

On my post on the 26th, I told you I’d show more sunflower pictures today…and I fully intend to do so! I am happy with them…at first glance, but then I try to look at them more technically and suddenly they aren’t as wonderful.

Oh, I still think they are good…but I see a LOT of room for improvement in things like focus and exposure.

All these photos are minimally edited (I lack good editing software…so I use picmonkey. It drives Chris NUTS that I won’t get something better and learn to do it proper. It’s not that I won’t, really…it’s just on my future list of ‘to do’.) and were shot with my Nikon D5300 with the kit lens (A Nikkor DX AF-S 18-55mm 1:3.5-5.6G II) in manual mode setting.

Click on each picture and it should pop up into a new window where you can click it again to bring it to full size and see all the missed focus and other mistakes.
DSC_6570

DSC_6585

DSC_6633

DSC_6624

DSC_6636
 I took all these at about 5-5:45 in the afternoon, and the sun was behind the flowers. It made for a pretty glow-y effect on the petals (as you can see in the last photo)…but created some awful blow outs and shadow-y flower ‘faces’. The next time I go (which may be this afternoon) I want to go a bit later so the light is softed (I’m thinking early 7pm) AND I want to grab a large white foam board to try and reflect some light back to the flowers ‘faces’.

The other thing I want to try is flash. Usually I avoid flash at all costs (ew, flash) but really it’s because I don’t know how to properly use it. When I get the foam board I’m also planning on grabbing a ping-pong ball to use to cover and ‘soften’ the flash.

My photography right now isn’t bad…BUT I know I have a lot to learn, and I do look forward to learning it. 🙂

One thought on “Sunflowers

Leave a Reply

