New Year, New Attempt

Pretty much as the title of this post shows.

A new year, a new attempt.

When I first began this blog, I had started it with the hopes of it helping me in a few ways – though really the main goal of it was accountability with what I was eating and for my exercise.

It worked, at least for a little while.

I started it with the desire to lose somewhere in the vicinity of ten pounds.

Now, with 2015 over and 2016 just begun… I managed to go the complete and total opposite way of that goal.

Instead of losing, I gained.

Not cool.

But I can’t truly say that I’m mad at myself about it…well, maybe a little.

However I, and only I, was the one who decided ‘hey, I won’t care about this until again until after the holidays.’

Well…now it’s after the holidays and a brand new year to boot…time to pick myself up and try again.

Only now that 10 pounds I wanted to lose has morphed into 20.

I can do this.

I just need to start being more careful about the things I’m eating (a lot less junk, a lot more fresh fruits and veggies) and I have to really get myself back into physical exercise.

I need to stop letting myself get away with excuses like ‘oh I’m so tired’ and ‘there’s always tomorrow’.

I don’t do New Year’s resolutions, but if I were to do one I think that would be the one I’d make: to stop making excuses.

2016 is a new start, and maybe that’s what I need again.

For tomorrow I’m going to stop back and really take a look at how I want to do this.

What foods am I going to cut from my diet? What foods do I really want to add to my diet? What type of exercise plan do I want to implement? What’s worked for me in the past? What new thing do I want to try this time?

I’ll do my best to figure that all out so that when Sunday, the day I consider to be the beginning of the week (well, it is on the calendars, anyway!) comes around I’ll be ready to start heading once again toward my goal.

In regards to the Photography portion of this blog, I hope to use this blog to improve on that as well.

It won’t be as prominent as the weightloss bits, but it will be there.

So…here’s to a fresh new year and also to new beginnings.

Even if they are sort of old-new beginnings. 🙂

 

 

2 thoughts on “New Year, New Attempt

  1. Good luck! With me it is a lifelong journey. I wish it was a one-time deal but apparently that is not the case. I think it is all about focus and changing the script in our heads!

    C

    Like

  2. Never too late to start again. I agree with the not making excuses…I am so good at that.
    It takes time to figure it all out,,just do what works for you and stick with it. Thats my plan

    Diana

    Like

Leave a Reply

